Monthly market review

rss

Economic and market review June 2018

The government has got itself in another tangle over Brexit. Meanwhile, chief investment officer Julian Chillingworth investigates the strange dichotomy that’s driving an ascendant dollar. Read more >>

Economic and market review May 2018

Italian politics rattled European bond markets in May and Italian debt markets still haven’t fully recovered their losses. Our chief investment officer, Julian Chillingworth, warns there could be more turmoil to come. Read more >>

Economic and market review April 2018

US bond yields continue to rise steadily, while the Bank of England equivocates in the face of high inflation and poor growth. Our chief investment officer, Julian Chillingworth, celebrates strong US earnings, but notes tariffs cast a pall over the future. Read more >>

Economic and market review March 2018

Economic and market review March 2018

Trade threats and tech troubles have made investors nervous, but economies around the world remain healthy and relatively vibrant. Our chief investment officer, Julian Chillingworth, says markets are likely to remain rocky, but that should provide opportunities. Read more >>

Economic and market review February 2018

After a rocky start markets have since settled, but possibly not for long. Our chief investment officer, Julian Chillingworth, looks ahead. Read more >>

Economic and market review January 2018

Inflation fears roiled markets in early February after a record stretch of stock market calm. Our chief investment officer, Julian Chillingworth, looks ahead. Read more >>

Economic and market review December 2017

Economic and market review December 2017

This has been one of the most begrudged share market rallies in modern times. Our chief investment officer, Julian Chillingworth, explains why political deadlock may help it continue. Read more >>

Economic and market review November 2017

Economic and market review November 2017

UK inflation crept 10 basis points higher to 3.1% in November, breaching the Bank of England’s target range. There has been some consternation about this, but we believe CPI has peaked and is unlikely to go much higher. Read more >>

Economic and market review October 2017

There’s some sun on the horizon, though. Analysts expect US earnings to improve noticeably and post double-digit growth for the next three quarters Read more >>

Economic and market review September 2017

British investors may get a shock when they look at their returns this month. For those investing in sterling, overseas stock market performances were downright dismal. Read more >>